The Best Cuban Sandwich in Astoria?

Posted on June 1, 2010. Filed under: Astoria, Cheap Dining, Coffee/Tea Shop, Cuban | Tags: , |

Long live the quest for that authentically great tasting cubano in Astoria. The highly coveted sandwich rarely makes an appearance in the neighborhood, but I found one that is sure to please even the pickiest of taste buds. I have passed by Havana Express many times before I noticed their vast array of grilled sandwiches. Being a sweet fanatic I usually fix my eyes on the cupcakes. However, today was an exception. I sauntered into the tiny cafe and decided to try their cubano. And to cure my sleepy state, I washed it all down with a cortadito. While they don’t have outdoor seating, Havana Express offers an open store front, so it is much like sitting outside in the shade. Being a sunny afternoon I picked a spot near the front (great for people watching). The spot has a real neighborhood appeal to it. Diners chat merrily with the servers and everyone seems to know the owner by name. The red bar stools give the place a touch of that 1950s diner ambience. Shortly after placing my order a sweet young woman gracefully placed the giant cubano on my table. Another server brought me my drink. Fearing that the beverage would tumble onto my laptop computer, she strategically positioned the drinks so the had little chance of spilling. Now that is what I call customer service! Not only were they prompt and friendly, but also highly aware of their patrons’ needs. The cubano consisted of grilled pork and ham smothered in melted cheese, with mustard and thinly sliced pickles. The bread was crispy and warm with a soft fluffy center. I gobbled-up the delicacy within minutes. The only remains were the crumbs that covered my lap. Havana Express is a great spot for casual and cheap neighborhood dining. They have free wifi for those workaholics who want a quiet place to log-on while they dine.

Havana Express Cafe & Bakery 21-37 31st Street Astoria 718-545-9344


Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “The Best Cuban Sandwich in Astoria?”

RSS Feed for One Day in Queens Comments RSS Feed

Interesting post. I have been wondering about this issue, so thanks for sharing this with us! nice race-pie

Thank you for sharing this valuable information with us. I will keep visiting you post again and again. I hope to get some new ideas in coming days. Thanks!!!

Hey Im a food lover..Well by seeing this blog i really wish to run over your place.I sure come and have a visit at once…Thanks.keep rocking

Hi,im the owners daughter you will probally see my walking around the Bakery. Onnce i tried the cuban sandwich it was to die for!!!!!:)

Yes, the place is pretty humble but the taste of the Cuban torpedo is so rich.
By the way i went last Saturday night and enjoy a couple of Latin musicians playing wonderful music from Cuba..Hot sandwich with hot music ..Don’t Miss it.

They have a great Cuban sandwich (having grown up in Miami, I’m familiar with the real thing). And on Friday & Saturday nights, there’s live jazz to boot! Lucky me, I live just across the street!

It’s a really pleasant place to go for a quiet lunch with free wifi. The cubano was actually twice as big as the one in the photo, I had half of it wrapped to go.

Wow, thanks for the review! That is not far from my home… and I think I may have walked by a few times. Will have to check it out soon!

OMG, yum!!! Thanks in advance for my cholesterol going up.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

