Mmmm… Doughnut Burger?

Posted on March 1, 2010. Filed under: Astoria, Burgers, Cheap Dining | Tags: , , , |

A doughnut burger may not be the healthiest thing to eat after working out at the gym, or ever, but I was intrigued so I ordered one at the new halal eatery, Crave Shack in Astoria. This place is as cute as can be, think: 1950s diner meets the Jetsons. The staff is very friendly with an extra enthusiasm for their customers and their job, a hard-to-find trait in customer service these days. Situated on the busy Steinway Street, the place was bustling with hungry evening diners, including myself. The wall offers a back drop of the New York City skyline and colorful tiles to create a hip atmosphere for the red and white tables and chairs. I plopped myself in a booth and ordered a doughnut burger with bacon and cheese grilled on a glazed doughnut. Yes, a doughnut. Also with the dish were fries smothered in a special sauce. The burger was much tastier than I expected, with an interesting combination of salty and sweet all at once. Although I wasn’t crazy-bananas about the taste mixture ( I think I would have preferred a plain cake doughnut), it was definitely worth trying. The burger tasted fresh and seemingly prepared with herbs and spices although the portion was a little small. The fries were crispy on the outside with a fluffy center. With the fun vibe this place has, it seems great for an after-school diner hangout and a late night place to go for a quick pick-me-up. I like that the menu is limited to the basic burger and shake items with a few other distinctive features. Delivery available.

Crave Shack- Astoria 25-47 Steinway St 718-278-2323

Crave Shack

Halal Doughnut Burger and Fries

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Mmmm… Doughnut Burger?”

RSS Feed for One Day in Queens Comments RSS Feed

this doughnut burger is amazing! I never ever had anything like it anywhere.. best burger I have ever had!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

