Krave Astoria Cafe and Grill

Posted on January 31, 2010. Filed under: Astoria, Burgers, Cheap Dining, Diners |

Greek Omelet and Home Fries

Krave (45-01 Ditmars 718.204.7711) Despite the name of this brand new eatery, it really wasn’t what I was craving at all. Their extensive menu and unlimited mimosas for Saturday and Sunday brunch were enticing, yet the skeptic in me warned that all free things come with a price. I stopped into this place two days after they opened, here is a recap of the experience. Although the decor is nice, much like the food, there is nothing that particularly stands out to make Krave unique. The menu is similar to that of a scaled-down diner. There are many breakfast, sandwich, wrap, salad and burger plates to choose from at inexpensive prices (items average about $7-$10). The brunch menu (that they advertise on the main menu) is not available for another week, so one Spanish omelet and one Greek omelet were ordered from the standard breakfast menu. The plates arrived nice and hot, but the food on the plate was luke warm at best. The proportions were relatively small and mediocre in taste. Although they serve a sizable cup of gourmet Illy coffee, watch your wallet if you are expecting a  bottomless cup. At Krave you will be charged for each cup of coffee, thus adding a few extra dollars onto your tab. Overall the service was friendly, but a little scattered. Needless to say, Krave has room for improvement. The experience wasn’t completely negative, but first impressions are difficult to erase. See for yourself what their brunch or dinner has to offer and let me know how you like it!

*Thanks for all your comments! I am tempted to give this place another try, as so much of the feedback is positive. I will let you know when I go there again!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Krave Astoria Cafe and Grill”

RSS Feed for One Day in Queens Comments RSS Feed

This site has some extremely useful stuff on it! Cheers for sharing it with me.

Thanks to GROUPON me, my wife, brother and sister in-law went to Krave Cafe and Grill for a late afternoon lunch. The deal was, For $26, you get a burger meal that includes: Four burgers, Four orders of fries and Four beers.

They gave us a choice of 13 specialty Angus burgers stacked with inventive toppings. The selection of french fries allowed us to customize our combo’s, with a choice of curly, waffle, or sweet potato, or opt for onion rings instead. Krave’s beer list ranges from Stella to Budweiser. The wait staff was polite, informative and attentive. A Special Thank you to our kind waiter who made sure my 7 1/2mo pregnant wife got her chocolate shake. We had a delishious lunch and an all around great experiance.
Thank You Groupon for bringing this delightful Astoria gem to our attention.

Joe & Jen Lane

While I agree that much on Krave’s menu is generic, I have to say that they have the BEST french toast. It is very moist and flavorful. We go there every weekend for the brunch menu so the coffee is unlimited. The Greek Omelette is very good too.

Despite ur negative comments I went to Krave, and it was AWSOME. They’ve been open over 2 mths. They ARE special! There’s nothing like it in that neighborhood. It’s cozy,the service is great, and the staff is friendly. Where else can u go to get casual gourmet dining for an amazing price! They have a little of everything.I go for brunch all the time-and let me tell u it’s PACKED. They have a large selection of beer and wine, and amazing deserts, and the BEST BURGERS. I suggest it to ALL.
Oh and it’s great to just hang there and drink, very comfortable.

I have to disagree with the above comment… The foodis inexpensive but very yummy everything I’ve ordered so far has been delicious from the brunch (*pancakes*) to the beet and goat cheese salad with grilled salmon my husband loves the pulled pork O and the steamed dumplings i could go on and on. I do wish the place was bigger but thats not important food is great and so is the service. Its something we needed in the area.

Thanks for your comment Alison. I hope to get back there to try them again. Many people have said that the food has really improved.

I totally disagree with this review. We have been to Krave many times and it has become one of our regular places for dinner.

The food is delicious and the prices are very reasonable for the portions they give you– especially the platters like the steak and chicken. The food is always tasty and always hot, even when we get takeout.

Even when I had a cold, and I had no appetite, I sought comfort in their chicken soup, which I didn’t expect to be stellar, and it was as close to homemade as I’ve had from any takeout place.

Had a very enjoyable lunch here today. Turkey burger and chicken and rice soup were great. The tuna steak, salad (with avocado!) and sweet potato fries were fantastic. The service and decor are top notch; I will definitely return!

Thanks Chris- I’ll definitely give it another chance!

I went on its second day and the service left a lot to be desired. I’ve been back twice since then, and have had very positive experiences. The burgers are delicious, and you have to try the flavored coffee.

I definitely think Krave is worth your time.

Thanks for your comment! Your positive feedback makes me more inclined to try it again…

We ordered delivery for dinner on Saturday. I had the goat cheese and beet salad which I have to say was quite good. Healthy and filling.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

