Sugar & Joe Cupcakes in Sunnyside

Posted on October 6, 2008. Filed under: Bakery, Coffee/Tea Shop, IceCream/Ice/Gelato/Fro-Yo, RIP, Woodside/Sunnyside |

Sugar & Joes has closed. Your cupcakes will be missed RIP.

These days cupcakes are all the rage. No matter how bad the economy gets, people always have some spare change to invest in a buttery cup of sugary goodness. Sugar & Joes (718-472-1070 42-20 Greenpoint ave, Sunnyside 11104) is a little cafe that offers locals top notch baked goods. Straight from the mixing bowl to your table, this ultra cute cafe provides a staple sweet that, thanks to Magnolia Bakery, was brought back by popular demand. Well, Magnolia’s got nothing on these guys. The moist creamy texture of the cake is topped with flavorful icings that aren’t just fluff. The dark chocolate peanut-butter cupcake consists of a tender chocolate cake covered in thick dark chocolate and smooth peanut-butter icing. If that doesn’t suit your fancy, try the lemon cupcake, a vanilla cake smothered in fluffy lemony icing with lots of sweetness and a slight taste of creamcheese. Looking to have breakfast on the weekend? Stop by for a coffee drink- stay for the gourmet waffles, pancakes, or muffins. If you’re not a cupcake fan- this little bakery also has ice-cream, pastelles, turtle candies, jelly beans, licorice, and cookies. They have an assortment of milkshakes, teas, and specialty coffee drinks. Service is friendly but still working out some kinks when the place gets busy. Nonetheless, it’s still a place that is worth the trip and great for kids. Inquire within about special orders.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Sugar & Joe Cupcakes in Sunnyside”

RSS Feed for One Day in Queens Comments RSS Feed

It’s a shame. We will all miss these cupacakes. RIP

I’m getting the munchies just thinking about this place. I hope they warm up the apple pie before serving it with my ice cream.

I miss these tiny neighborhood shop where I used to get ice cream and treats

Whenever people ask me why I like ice cream so much, I always respond that when I am eating ice cream I feel like a child again. I tasted my first ice cream in San Francisco when I was four years old. Since then I have always enjoyed eating ice cream. My favorite flavors were dulce de leche (caramel) and banana split. Both flavors were popular then, and they are still the most popular flavors in San Francisco today.

Ice cream! Ice cream!, If you buy one, you are going to be happy forever!”

Thank for sharing this informative post about ice cream stores and flavors.

Excellent cupcakes the best I‘ve ever had… the cookie are great too.

I can attest to how good the cupcakes are-yummy.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

