East Moon Asian Bistro Asian Fusion Astoria

Posted on August 13, 2008. Filed under: Astoria, Japanese, Pan Asian, RIP, Thai |

East Moon RIP- This business has closed and is now something else…IV (35-12 Ditmars Blvd 718-626-8180) is home to an amalgam of foods from the eastern hemisphere. This trendy Asian fusion eatery offers Japanese, Thai, Chinese, and Vietnamese. The extensive menu is grand in choice but less impressive when it comes to taste. The restaurant provides patrons with friendly and attentive service and a hip atmosphere- with neon lamps, dim lighting and flashy wall decor that looks the best in the evening hours. The food, however tasty, is missing something. The sushi salmon and yellow tail scallion rolls are acceptable albeit small. The Thai spring rolls are better portioned and palatable and the peanut sauce is the most delectable. The menu touts the shiitake mushroom and boneless duck entree- but the description should have included the bone- because there were small pieces throughout the dish- bite with caution! The crispy spring rolls were savory and hot. The perks are friendly service and fast and hot delivery. The Japanese menu offers mostly rolls and sashimi – not sushi entrees like srirashi. The Chinese menu has some entrees (szechuan eggplant), noodles and soups (wonton), the Vietnamese offers noodle dishes and the Thai menu offers appetizers and entrees. This restaurant is number 4 of a chain based in Colorado.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “East Moon Asian Bistro Asian Fusion Astoria”

RSS Feed for One Day in Queens Comments RSS Feed

that’s weird because the 4 times I ate there I got great service and the food was reasonable and good! Yes, the main course was served too soon after we got our appetizers which didn’t bother me at all since the waitress was very sweet and caring.

the menu is all over the place, japanese, thai, chinese…and none of them authentic or good. i would prefer a smaller menu from one cuisine only. food was nothing special – just like the delivery chinese places.
service was not satisfying. different waitresses kept coming over asking the same questions. there was no coordination. i tried to keep calm but finally told them to have only ONE person serve our table. also, my food came earlier and my bf’s food arrived later. last, 3….3 times they came over trying to take our plates away even though we were not done. i usually give places in the area a few chances, but was so annoyed by this one, that would definitely not go back.

Thanks for your comment- anonymous. I received friendly and prompt service when I visited and ordered delivery. However, I have heard much negative feedback regarding the service there ie- waiting too long, forgotten orders etc. Perhaps I just got lucky

I live right over here and have been there 3 times. Each time I had received some of the worst service. They were NOT attentive at all whether it was dining in or take out. They gave me my food and had my girlfriend waiting 15 min for hers. They also left me to poking my head up doing my best to call them over even once. Take out, they immediately had me on hold for literally 5 min just to take down a 5 second order. Then when going to pick up it was there and ready and the women just told me to wait and left… 5 min later she comes back to take payment…food gets just that much cooler. At first I was excited about this place coming to the neighborhood, now I will never go there again.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

